At EMS Drivers' ED we presently accept all forms of currency but prefer to work in a cashless, work environment and as such, overwhelmingly welcome credit cards, cashier checks or money-order payments.
That being said, we will strive to meet the currency needs of our clients.
Please note, if making a partial payment the balance is due prior to receipt of the permit certificate; permit certificates are normally awarded the 1st week of class.
Thank you for entrusting your driver education needs to EMS Driver's ED School.
Although we do not offer refunds, we would strive to make feasible accommodations. Our goal is to partner with our clients and work through any concerns or issues.
A no-show fee of $20 ($25 with Saturday cancelations) will be charged if a scheduled in-car lesson is not cancelled at least 24 hours prior to the lesson.
We recommend wearing comfortable, layer clothing in both the classroom and behind-the-wheel. For safety reasons, NO FLIP FLOPS.
EMS Drivers' ED is always striving to better serve our students by providing excellent training and attention to each student's individual needs. We want to assure our valued students a dependable, safe driving experience and have equipped all vehicles with dual controlled brakes and instructor-side-mirrors for added safety. We are a growing driving school and are constantly looking for better ways to give excellent service to our students and their families.
Our team of Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) certified-instructors (certified as a TEA, TEA-full or D.E.T) have been selected, screened and underwent rigorous, written and performance (driving training) exams. Our driving instructors must have an excellent driving record and receive annual background checks through TDLR and in addition, receive company screening upon hire.
Our presenters are first responders who have extensive experience in responding to MVA and can teach your child how not to become a statistic. Their background checks and employment screening have been completed by their individual agencies.
These qualifications are high standards but it helps assure us and the public that they are qualified instructors and presenters.
Texas law requires all teens to complete behind-the-wheel (BTW) training with an instructor to obtain a driver's license. Teens that completed the Parent Taught Class must complete their in-car driving lessons with their parents. The driving school can provide additional practice hours.
For a student to obtain a Learner's Permit, a student must take the following items to the DPS:
- Student's birth certificate (original or certified copy only), US passport, or Resident Alien Card
- Social Security Card - Original
- Verification of Enrollment (VOE) and Attendance Form (get from your high school)
- Parent's proof of Texas residency (2 documents)
- Parent's evidence of relationship to student
- DE-964 Form (get from the driving school)
- PARENT MUST SIGN TEXAS RESIDENCY AFFIDAVIT AT DPS.
A hardship license - also known as a minor restricted driver license (MRDL) - is a Texas driver license that you can get before you're 16 years old or without holding your permit for a minimum of 6 months. In order to obtain a hardship license, you must show proof of why you need to drive as soon as possible.
Texas requires you be at least 15 years old to receive a permit. If you are 14 years old, you still have the opportunity to take the course. However, we HIGHLY recommended that if you are 14 years old, your 15th birthday be no more than 30 days from the first day of class.
To start behind-the-wheel lessons, you will need to have a learner's permit.